January 7, 2025
·
Item number:Item #30
·
💰 Hidden on consent
$
Total cost:
$2.6M
City commits $2.6 million to 25th Street North infrastructure improvements. Project is located on Selma property serving the community.
👥
Counterparty:
South Dade Air Conditioning and Refrigeration, Inc. DBA SDAC
🏛
Funding source:
Unknown
📋
Action type:
Contract award
📍
Location:
910 Landline Road, Selma, Alabama, 36701
January 7, 2025
·
Item number:Item #14
·
💰 Hidden on consent
$
Total cost:
$1.2M
City will spend $1.2 million to replace or expand its garbage collection fleet with four new Heil Durapack 25CY rear-loaded trucks, improving waste management capacity.
👥
Counterparty:
Ingram Equipment Company, LLC
🏛
Funding source:
Unknown
📋
Action type:
Contract award
January 7, 2025
·
Item number:Item #17
·
💰 Hidden on consent
$
Total cost:
$86K
City commits $85,878 to renew GPS tracking licenses for fleet vehicles. Service enables real-time location data for city operations.
👥
Counterparty:
Samsara, Inc.
🏛
Funding source:
General Fund
📋
Action type:
Contract amendment
January 7, 2025
·
Item number:Item #9
·
💰 Hidden on consent
$
Total cost:
undisclosed
City agrees to settle a federal civil-rights case filed by two residents. Settlement terms and dollar amount are not disclosed in the agenda.
👥
Counterparty:
Samantha Hardin and Moneka Chante Moore
🏛
Funding source:
General Fund
📋
Action type:
Settlement
December 23, 2024
·
Item number:Item #34
·
💰 Hidden on consent
$
Total cost:
undisclosed
City commits spending on routine printing and copying supplies via sole-source procurement with Virginia vendor.
👥
Counterparty:
Intoprint Technologies, Roanoke, Virginia
🏛
Funding source:
Unknown
📋
Action type:
Contract award
December 17, 2024
·
Item number:Item #37
·
💰 Hidden on consent
$
Total cost:
$20.2M
The city receives a competitive federal grant to fund economic opportunity initiatives managed by the IEO Department. This $20.2M investment supports job creation and economic development programs through fiscal year 2025.
👥
Counterparty:
IEO Department
🏛
Funding source:
Federal Grant
📋
Action type:
Budget amendment
December 17, 2024
·
Item number:Item #94
·
💰 Hidden on consent
$
Total cost:
$47K
Don Hawkins Recreation Center in District 1 gets new flooring. The $47,064 sole-source contract with Covington Flooring Company covers materials and installation.
👥
Counterparty:
Covington Flooring Company
🏛
Funding source:
Unknown
📋
Action type:
Contract award
📍
Location:
District 1
December 17, 2024
·
Item number:Item #95
·
💰 Hidden on consent
$
Total cost:
$5K
City commits $9,600 in public funds to Global Industrial for operations supplies and equipment at Dolomite Park in District 9, selected without competitive bidding.
👥
Counterparty:
Global Industrial, Buford, Georgia
🏛
Funding source:
General Fund
📋
Action type:
Contract award
📍
Location:
Dolomite Park
December 17, 2024
·
Item number:Item #60
·
💰 Hidden on consent
$
Total cost:
undisclosed
Birmingham will participate in a settlement involving Publix and related entities. The city's financial and legal obligations under this settlement are not detailed in the available information.
👥
Counterparty:
Publix and its related entities
🏛
Funding source:
Unknown
📋
Action type:
Settlement
December 10, 2024
·
Item number:Item #23
·
💰 Hidden on consent
$
Total cost:
$2.3M
City is building a new walking trail along Shades Creek using federal pandemic recovery funds. Project will create accessible outdoor recreation space in the area.
👥
Counterparty:
Gillespie Construction, Inc.
🏛
Funding source:
Arpa
📋
Action type:
Contract award
📍
Location:
4565 Highway 5, Jasper, Alabama 35503
December 10, 2024
·
Item number:Item #42
·
💰 Hidden on consent
$
Total cost:
$100K
City commits $100,000 to Central Alabama Redevelopment Alliance for unspecified services on a sole-source contract.
👥
Counterparty:
Central Alabama Redevelopment Alliance
🏛
Funding source:
Unknown
📋
Action type:
Resolution
December 10, 2024
·
Item number:Item #20
·
💰 Hidden on consent
$
Total cost:
$37K
Wylam Park (District 9) receives $37,012 in American Rescue Plan funds for park supplies and equipment. Funded entirely by federal COVID relief money.
👥
Counterparty:
Giffen Recreation, Inc.
🏛
Funding source:
Arpa
📋
Action type:
Contract award
📍
Location:
Wylam Park
December 10, 2024
·
Item number:Item #17
·
💰 Hidden on consent
$
Total cost:
$3K
McAlpine Recreation Center in District 9 gets new audio-visual equipment and services. Routine facility upgrade funded through city procurement.
👥
Counterparty:
Best Buy for Business, Richfield, Minnesota
🏛
Funding source:
Unknown
📋
Action type:
Contract award
📍
Location:
District 9
December 10, 2024
·
Item number:Item #21
·
💰 Hidden on consent
$
Total cost:
$2K
City buys printer, software, and related items for District 9 recreation facility using sole-source procurement from New Hampshire vendor.
👥
Counterparty:
PC Connection Sales Corp.
🏛
Funding source:
Unknown
📋
Action type:
Contract award
📍
Location:
McAlpine Recreation Center
December 10, 2024
·
Item number:Item #47
·
💰 Hidden on consent
$
Total cost:
$151
Sole-source contract funds recreation supplies and equipment at District 3's Bessie Estell Park, supporting community recreation access.
👥
Counterparty:
Giffen Recreation, Inc.
🏛
Funding source:
Unknown
📋
Action type:
Contract award
📍
Location:
Bessie Estell Park
December 10, 2024
·
Item number:Item #13
·
💰 Hidden on consent
$
Total cost:
undisclosed
City is planning major development or redevelopment of 11 blocks. Master plan will guide zoning, building, and public space decisions in this area for years to come.
👥
Counterparty:
Poole & Company Architects, PC
🏛
Funding source:
Unknown
📋
Action type:
Contract award
December 3, 2024
·
Item number:Item #45
·
💰 Hidden on consent
$
Total cost:
$1.4M
Southeastern Sealcoating wins the bid to seal and maintain streets in Hooper City Phase V using federal ARPA pandemic relief funds. Work is expected to improve road conditions and extend street lifespan.
👥
Counterparty:
Southeastern Sealcoating, Inc.
🏛
Funding source:
Arpa
📋
Action type:
Contract award
📍
Location:
Hooper City
December 3, 2024
·
Item number:Item #19
·
💰 Hidden on consent
$
Total cost:
undisclosed
City enters sole-source agreement for cloud-based mainframe services to run municipal IT systems. Terms and dollar amount not disclosed in this agenda.
👥
Counterparty:
Mainline Information Systems, LLC
🏛
Funding source:
Unknown
📋
Action type:
Resolution
November 26, 2024
·
Item number:Item #23
·
💰 Hidden on consent
$
Total cost:
$5.9M
Russo Corporation will improve drainage and utilities at Caldwell Park and 26th Street South using federal pandemic recovery funds. Project reduces flooding risk in the area.
👥
Counterparty:
Russo Corporation
🏛
Funding source:
Arpa
📋
Action type:
Contract award
📍
Location:
Caldwell Park/26th Street South
November 26, 2024
·
Item number:Item #22
·
💰 Hidden on consent
$
Total cost:
$1.1M
Clairmont Connector Trails project moves forward with federal funding. New walking and cycling paths will improve neighborhood connectivity and recreation access.
👥
Counterparty:
Bulls Construction Group, LLC
🏛
Funding source:
Arpa
📋
Action type:
Resolution
November 26, 2024
·
Item number:Item #45
·
💰 Hidden on consent
$
Total cost:
$194K
City commits to a three-year railroad-crossing safety or prediction system with sole vendor TRAINFO. Without competition, residents and council should know why this technology cannot be obtained elsewhere.
👥
Counterparty:
TRAINFO Corporation
🏛
Funding source:
Unknown
📋
Action type:
Contract award
November 26, 2024
·
Item number:Item #44
·
💰 Hidden on consent
$
Total cost:
$118K
Sole-source contract awards public funds to a nonprofit provider. The incomplete description makes it unclear what services residents will receive.
👥
Counterparty:
Love Joy Ministries, Inc.
🏛
Funding source:
General Fund
📋
Action type:
Contract award
November 26, 2024
·
Item number:Item #20
·
💰 Hidden on consent
$
Total cost:
$31K
The city will replace the deteriorating side canopy at Boutwell Auditorium, a historic cultural venue. The work protects the building and maintains usable public space.
👥
Counterparty:
Tennessee Valley Metals, Inc.
🏛
Funding source:
Unknown
📋
Action type:
Contract award
📍
Location:
1930 Reverend Ab
November 26, 2024
·
Item number:Item #21
·
💰 Hidden on consent
$
Total cost:
$3K
Council approves repair work on a public auditorium's exterior structure. The replacement is a routine maintenance project for the facility at 1930 Reverend Abraham Woods Jr Boulevard.
👥
Counterparty:
C.P. Construction, LLC
🏛
Funding source:
Unknown
📋
Action type:
Contract award
📍
Location:
1930 Reverend Abraham Woods Jr Boulevard, Birmingham
November 26, 2024
·
Item number:Item #18
·
💰 Hidden on consent
$
Total cost:
undisclosed
The city is resolving a legal dispute involving resident Melissa Fendley. Settlement terms were not disclosed.
👥
Counterparty:
Melissa Fendley
🏛
Funding source:
General Fund
📋
Action type:
Settlement